Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to my first What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)! I discovered this series through Jenn from Peasandcrayon, the creator of WIAW. Recently, I’ve been intrigued by the daily eats of other people, so I love reading posts about other bloggers’ food experiences whether they be mundane or totally adventurous. I tend find much inspiration and encouragement from other bloggers whenever I read about their attempts to stay healthy and fit or when they take a stab at developing an awesome recipe. Sometimes I like reading WIAW because I’m just well….nosy. 😛 But I think most of all, I like learning about the differences in eating patterns and habits of those from different cultures or lifestyles, especially when there’s a story or explanation that comes attached to the food. I tend to eat the same or similar meals/snacks every day, so I don’t think I’m going to do this regularly. However, I am beginning to vary things up a bit…to be honest, I’ve been craving variety in my meals and finding ways to really enjoy my food. Without further ado, here we go!

BREAKFAST

I chugged a large cup of water as I do every morning after I brush my teeth. I always wake up feeling super thirsty.

IMG_0101

Breakfast consisted of a green smoothie – a blend of frozen banana, spinach, chia seeds, ground flaxmeal, yogurt, green tea, carrot, and cinnamon. SO YUM and filling. I enjoyed this at the office in between tasks. I also had a few pieces of chocolate and a throat drop (because I’ve been sick lately) before lunch time rolled around. Probably not the best combo but whatever.

IMG_0156
_MG_0107 IMG_0114

LUNCH

For lunch, instead of making my usual plain sandwich, I wanted to try something new and bought a super veggie sandwich. It consisted of avocado, roasted red pepper hummus, sprouts, mixed greens, tomato, and cucumber on whole wheat bread. In my opinion, the sandwich was kinda dry, so I added some mustard and ketchup (my two favorite everyday sandwich spreads!).

IMG_0175

SNACK

Wednesdays are short days for me so I decided to hit up a local coffee shop to read and enjoy some delicious cappuccino. I saw a huge jar of triple almond biscotti and couldn’t take my eyes off it. I debated whether to purchase it or not as I didn’t feel hungry and it was an additional $2.00. I got one anyway. 🙂 No regrets. Coffee and biscotti just go SO well together.

IMG_0133

DINNER

I eat whatever my mom makes and so tonight we had one of my favorite Chinese meats – BBQ pork! I also had broccoli and pan-fried cod as well. I drizzled sirracha (super good Asian hot sauce) and sprinkle some Japanese furikake (savory dried seaweed and salmon flakes) on top and enjoyed my meal with a bowl of rice on the side. I went back for seconds. And thirds. 😀

IMG_0112

After dinner, I had some white fungus, pork, and carrot soup my mom made. White fungus might sound really weird to some people, but it’s really good! It has a jelly-like texture and a mild flavor. This soup warms my soul. 🙂

IMG_0178

SNACK
A little later, I had an apple and some oreos while I caught up on Once Upon A Time.

IMG_0139 IMG_0153

That completes my day of eats! Thank you for reading! Hope you had a beautiful Wednesday. 🙂

How have you been changing up your eats lately?
Do you watch Once Upon A Time too? What other TV shows do you watch??