Tags

, , , ,

IMG_0120

Happy Saturday everyone! It’s such a beautiful day today that I felt like making some yummy pancakes this morning! I’ve never really made pancakes from scratch before. In the past, I wanted to make a healthy version using whole wheat white flour, but it just didn’t turn out right for some reason.

IMG_0121

Recently, I’ve been exposed to a whole new world on instagram of users who create stunning breakfast posts that are filled with fun and vibrant colors, intriguing textures, and creatively using healthy and natural ingredients. Everything I saw was absolutely drool-worthy. I don’t follow a raw or vegan diet, but boy do some of the food they make look absolutely delicious. One particular user that I follow has a food blog and I decided to try her whole wheat pancake recipe. I tweaked it a little bit because I was missing milk, and I wanted to personalize it to my liking. I roughly followed her recipe because I was too lazy to measure things out accurately LOL. However, I was SO happy with the final product; I shared it with my mom and she was a fan too. Without further ado, here’s the adapted recipe.

The Best Whole Wheat Pancakes
adapted from Chocolatexdiaries
makes about 4 medium sized pancakes

6 tbsp natural yogurt (I used fage 0%)
3 tbsp water (or milk of choice)
1 egg
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tbsp sweetener of choice (I used honey)
1/3 c whole wheat white flour
1 tsp chia seeds
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
a dash of vanilla
a few dashes of cinnamon

Whisk together dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.
In another bowl, whisk together yogurt and milk, then add in egg and oil. Whisk well.
Pour the dry ingredients into the wet and mix using a wooden spoon until JUST combined. Lumps are fine. Just make sure that all dry ingredients are well incorporated. The batter will be fairly thick. (I thought it was a little too thick, so I added a tbsp more liquid. i.e. 3T water instead of 2T)
Heat up your pan and once hot, drop some oil on top and tilt your pan to grease the surface. Turn heat to low.
Drop large spoonfuls of your batter on your pan and gently spread into a pancake shape. Cook each side for about 1 to 2 minutes. Flip when bubbles appear and the edges look dry.

IMG_0118

IMG_0122
I placed sliced bananas on top of each pancakes and stacked them up. I sprinkled some cinnamon and raisins on top and some drizzled honey over the pancakes. My pancakes lost some heat so I placed the whole thing in the microwave for a few seconds to warm up the bananas. These banana pancakes were delicious! Makes me even more happy at they’re pretty good for you. I love the look of stacked pancakes….such a classic American breakfast…and I got to slice and eat through a stack of pancakes for the first time! I might sound like a deprived child, but I never grew up eating pancakes, and I rarely go out to diners and breakfast cafes. This was definitely a yummy treat.

I need to make this more often and practice the art of making perfectly round pancakes! 😀

IMG_0125