Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone! Happy Tuesday!

I don’t know what is it about Spring, but it makes me want to go out and enjoy some good food and treats that really hits the spot. Lately, I have been enjoying lots of food and snacks that are not typical of my everyday eats. Of course, a lot of it is because I’m trying to not be a hermit and instead meet up with some friends to catch up and enjoy some good food. In addition, instead of packing lunch for work, I’ve been hitting up some local cafes and restaurants to try something new.

To start off, I enjoyed a nice picnic at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco with my boyfriend who drove down to the city for the day. I was so excited because this was our first picnic date and I’ve always wanted to experience it with him and pack lots and lots of snacks! I’m pretty sure we overpacked because we barely touched the snacks after finishing our Vietnamese sandwiches (Banh Mi). We relaxed on a soft blanket on the grass, just enjoying the beautiful weather. Other people must’ve had the same idea as us because there were a good number of other fellow picnic-ers. 🙂

IMG_0371

There were more snacks on the side that couldn’t fit the picture…

IMG_0373 IMG_0378

We also tried a new boba milk tea place that opened up in the area.

IMG_0367

very refreshing!

I cannot tell you how excited I was when I finally had Philz coffee the other day. The locations are pretty out of the way for me so I rarely go. Hands down, my favorite place to get coffee. I don’t know how they do it, but every cup is made to perfection.  If you’re ever in San Francisco, you must give it a try!

IMG_0379

I’m not vegan/vegetarian but this spicy black bean veggie burger was the bomb! The cafe is located down the block from  my work place. It’s packed with flavor and spice. I enjoyed every single bite of this sandwich. It’s made with arugula, avocado, tomato, tomato, PICKLES, homemade black bean veggie patty sandwiched between crispy sliced bread slathered with mustard and mayo. To top things off, all their ingredients are organic and antibiotic/hormone-free! I need to replicate this at home ASAP.

IMG_0346

Something tells me I should go easy on my coffee consumption. Too much caffeine can’t be good for my body. But it’s oh-so satisfying…especially when it comes with a side of COOKIE!

This cookie was so yummy! Interestingly, this cookie was dense and soft, packed with whole grains, seeds, and coconut shreds.

This cookie was so yummy! Interestingly, this cookie was dense and soft, packed with whole grains, seeds, and coconut shreds.

I had a yummy chicken salad at delicious salad/sandwich place called Pluto’s in San Francisco. It was at Pluto’s that I first discovered people can actually become full from eating a plate of vegetables! I love the concept of salad bars – so many toppings to choose from! Even though I can be full from vegetables, I won’t be entirely satisfied unless I add some savory protein too. 😉 My favorite toppings to put in salad are sweet potatoes, beets, mushrooms, broccoli, strawberries, carrots, tomatoes, walnuts, and if I’m lucky, feta cheese. Too bad they didn’t have sweet potato and feta cheese that day. 😦

IMG_0350

I finally got the chance to check out this super popular French bakery called B. Patisserie, which is known for their Kouign Amann. Now I understand why these babies sell out so quickly. Its layers of butter and sugar gives it a wonderful flavor and the crispy crystallized sugar layer on the bottom gives it yummy caramel flavor and a nice crunch. I also tried their popular chocolate banana almond croissant which was simply awesomeeeeeee. I’m not a fan of plain croissants, but this one made me a fan of this one. Banana and chocolate go so well together!

buttery, flakely, sugary goodness

buttery, flaky, sugary goodness: Kouign Amann

best croissant I've ever had...actually I haven't had many croissants in my life, but this was still absolutely delicious. :D

Ooops, I smushed it – looks funky. Best croissant I’ve ever had…actually I haven’t had many croissants in my life, but this was absolutely delicious. 😀

That about wraps up my recent eats. It is a blessing to be able to eat tasty food, and I am grateful for the ability to purchase food and to share it with those I care about. Also, I am so grateful to live in this city that has so much to offer. But sometimes all the hustling and bustling can make one feel overwhelmed or lost, so it’s nice to take a moment to enjoy the peace and beauty of everything. Even though I’ve lived here my whole life, there is so much I don’t know about San Francisco; I’m constantly learning and experiencing new things about this city. I’m not saying SF is the perfect place to live, but it’s certainly home to me. 🙂

IMG_0307

Till next time friends! Take care. 🙂

What are some of your recent favorite eats?
What are your favorite salad toppings?
How do you relax and experience peace in your life?

