Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So I may have a bit of a snack bar addiction lately. I am a HUGE snacker, and I try to eat a snack or two in between meals to maintain a steady blood sugar levels and provide me with energy throughout the day. Snack bars have been my go-to snack lately when I’m in a rush or when hunger pangs kick in mid-afternoon at work. Heck, it’s even been my dessert after dinner! I’ve been perusing the aisles for healthy, fiber-filled, protein-packed bars and I’ve been loving some of my options! Generally, I go for bars that don’t contain too much sugar (12 grams or less) and doesn’t skimp out on flavor. Here are some of my favorites:

Trader Joe’s Fiberful Peanut Butter Chewy Granola Bars
IMG_3136 IMG_3137 IMG_3138
I’m not a fan of peanut butter, but these granola bars are absolutely delicious satisfies my sweet tooth on a whole other level! And guess what? For something with this much flavor, these only have 6g of sugar! Bonus points for also having 9g of fiber and 6g of protein! It looks pretty appetizing doesn’t it? It has a chocolate-dipped bottom with peanut chips studded throughout the bar, and a yummy chocolate drizzle on top. It’s priced at $1.99 at Trader Joe’s, so bonus points for being budget-friendly! 🙂

Kashi’s Chocolate Almond and Sea Salt Chewy Granola Bar
_MG_0094 (2)

Kashi is known to have very tasty and healthy cereal options but I haven’t tried their bars until now. I generally liked these; even though this has 7g of sugar, it is not as sweet compared to Trader Joe’s peanut butter bar. I like that Kashi uses a heart healthy “whole grain blend” and the almonds give it a natural and hearty crunch. I can definitely taste the sea salt, which initially surprises my tastes buds, but it actually works well paired with the semi-sweet chocolate pieces! I wouldn’t pick these up very often since it can be pretty pricey – around $3.99 per box at Safeway.

Luna Bar – Toasted Nuts N’ Cranberries
_MG_0102 _MG_0101
Luna Bars have been one of my favorite nutritional snack bars ever since college and I was first drawn to these because they were made primarily for women. I’ve tried a number of they’re products and have not found one that I haven’t like! I recently tried the Toasted Nuts N’ Cranberries, and I really liked this one! It tasted and smelled awesomee. It is reminiscent of Quaker Oat’s chewy granola bars and brings me back to my childhood! 😀 I like its chewy texture; it felt like I was eating a homemade oatmeal raisin cookie (my favorite!). These are a little higher in sugar with 11g of sugar, but they also have 9g of protein and 3g of fiber!

Fiber One Strawberry Streusel Bars
_MG_0100 IMG_3386

Ohmygoodness these bars are absolutely delicious! I almost feel guilty eating one almost every day (my mom brought home a huge box of it-yay!) because it tastes like a decadent streusel dessert that I can eat with vanilla ice cream. How are these made of whole grains and taste so good?! It is packed with 5g of fiber, 2g of protein, and 9g of sugar.

Quest Bars – Chocolate Peanut Butter
photo 1 (5) photo 2 (4)

I’m so happy about my latest discovery! I was looking for something to fill me if I got super hungry at work and these were awesome because it contains a whooping 17g of fiber and 20g of protein! I know I’m not working out or anything, but these just taste good and keeps me full. These bars have a different texture than the bars previously mentioned; it’s kind of like a chewy, fudge-y brownie. I like the little crunch from the crushed peanut bits throughout the bar. I did some snooping around the internet and learned that these are some of the best quality protein bars out there. I would definitely go for these from time to time. It is a bit pricey for a bar, it can go up to $2.99 PER BAR at some stores.

What are some of your favorite granola/protein bars? I’d love to hear! Hope you’re having a great week! 🙂

