Tags

, , , ,

Happy Monday!

I’ve been blessed with such great weather in San Francisco lately, it doesn’t even feel like winter anymore! Anyone else excited for spring to come already?! Actually, I’m more pumped that daylight savings is going to happen soon which means it’ll be still bright out at 7pm! Hooray!

Anyway, Valentine’s Day just past and I just had a nice, relaxing dinner with my boyfriend at a cafe (awesome dinner and dessert options!) We’re not really big on celebrating this supposedly flower-and-chocolate-filled day, but since we barely get to see each other, the night was definitely something to celebrate. 🙂

Here are some of the FOOD highlights! #nomnom

Rice noodles with pb, sirracha, and oyster dipping sauce!

Rice noodles with pb, sirracha, and oyster dipping sauce!

Japanese beef teriyaki with rice and house salad

Japanese beef teriyaki with rice and house salad

Crispy Chicken and Avocado Salad

Crispy Chicken and Avocado Salad

Green tea souffle

Green tea souffle

GIFTS
I remember when we started dating, I made him a lot of DIY, artsy-fartsy gifts and he really appreciate the effort I made to make it for him. I felt like I haven’t made anything for him in quite a while, so I thought I’d create some thoughtful and sentimental gifts this year for Valentine’s Day. I wanted to remind him that our primary Valentine that captures our hearts should be first and foremost, Jesus Christ! So this happened: heart-shaped envelop/card with John 3:16, creatively highlighting VALENTINE. I thought this was pretty smart. (Thank you pinterest!)

_MG_0092 _MG_0094 _MG_0097

Then I made a jar filled with notes on reasons why I love him and random notes and jokes, and handmade paper hearts and stars. (Again, thank you pinterest!)

_MG_0103

Although my boyfriend’s primary way of expressing love is not the language of gift-giving, I am grateful for his efforts whenever his gives me a thoughtful gift because it shows he is trying to improve in areas he knows he might not be the best.  I guess we complement each other in that way! 🙂 I received 3 roses, a giant box of blueberries (my all-time favorite fruit!), a box of organic sea salt dark chocolate (I love dark chocolate!), and a sweet card. He presented me 3 roses because this is our third valentines day together! Does that mean I’ll be getting 60 roses if we reach that far?? :D) At the end of the night he gave me the rest of the dozen flowers since it would just go to waste. Hahaa we joked that he could give the rest of his other dates later in the night. LOL.

photo 1 (2)

_MG_0084

Overall, it was a nice but short reunion; however, every opportunity we get to see each other is a blessing to be celebrated. 🙂 How did you guys spend Valentine’s Day? Whether it was spent with friends, family, or your significant other, I hope you had a wonderful and memorable day spreading the love. Even if it was an uneventful day for you, I hope that you can see what a valuable, unique, and beautiful person you are, created to love and be loved. And I want to let you know that God loves you so deeply that we as mere human beings can never truly understand. And that is why you deserve to love yourself and extend that love to others around you. I hope you have a wonderful week!

