Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello readers!

I have to admit, I haven’t been the best at eating healthy lately despite my attempts to be more conscious of what I’m putting into my body. Do you ever feel like your body switches to autopilot as you indulge in your food cravings? I noticed that a week before mother nature punches me in the uterus, I am not satisfied if I do not have something sweet with each of my meals! I then gravitate towards multiple servings of things such as cereal, candy, or bread (ohh those delicious Asian baos…). I read that it’s because when a woman is ovulating, her serotonin (feel-good chemical) levels are low and cortisol (stress hormone) levels are high, which stimulates our appetite and leads us to reach for high carb and high fat foods for a quick fix. Makes sense I suppose?

Anyway, I just wanted to share some things I’ve been preparing to satisfy those cravings. I don’t have the best self-control when it comes to snacking healthy, but it sure does help to have healthy options available! I’ve learned that if you don’t have junk food stashed in your house, you’re more likely to find healthier alternatives.

Ever since I got a Magic Bullet for Christmas, I’ve been making lots of green smoothies for me and my mom. These smoothies are great for satisfying my sweet tooth while sneaking in a serving of vegetables! They are also a good source of good fiber, protein, calcium, etc! I just use whatever ingredients I have at home. Here’s a couple recipes I’ve made. (these are rough measurements as I usually just eyeball the ingredients)

IMG_3294

IMG_3298
Spinach and Banana Green Smoothie

handful of spinach
1 ripe banana
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1/4 cup water (I used warm water)
1 tsp cinnamon

IMG_3295

IMG_3300
Spinach and Apple Green Smoothie

handful of spinach
1/2 medium-large apple
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp ground flaxmeal
1/4 greek yogurt
1/4 cup water (i used warm water)
1 tsp cinnamon

Some other quick eats are:
Frozen Sliced Bananas: I don’t know what it is about frozen bananas, but it tastes so much more YUMMY than just peeling and munching. Plus, it allows me to savor them for a longer period because it takes some effort to poke them with a fork and take small bites because they’re so cold.

One-ingredient banana ice cream: defrost those same frozen banana slices at room temperature for about 10 minutes and blend! It may test your patience because you may have to shake and scrape multiple times before the texture of ice cream forms. But the wait is  totally worth it! I have seen people blend in peanut butter to make Chunky Monkey ice cream! I like eat mine with cinnamon (a lot!) and raisins. 🙂

IMG_3304

Overnight Oats: this is super simple and I’ve posted about this before. It’s a quick breakfast to put together the night before, add some milk/fruit/nuts in the morning and you have yourself a yummy breakfast! You can also heat it up in the microwave in the morning if you prefer it hot. This is what I’ve been putting into mine lately:
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp ground flaxmeal
1/2 banana
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt

Kix/Multigrain Cheerios Cereal: when I want something crunchy; lots of pieces per serving and fun to snack on!

What kind of food do you crave? What are your good-to healthy foods? I’d love to hear!
Hope this gives you ideas on how you can start eating healthier during this new year! I wish you the best of luck! Thanks for reading!

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.
1 Corinthians 10:31

