Tags

, , , ,

IMG_3283

Hello everyone! I’m excited to share my first post of 2015!

I’m aware that many bloggers are whipping up some super healthy recipes for the eat-healthier new year resolution that many people are determined to undertake (more power to you!) Coincidentally, today I made something that fits right in!
I was really excited to make this chicken shawarma salad because every since my first exposure to Mediterranean food, I fell in love with this cuisine and their powerful flavors. I wanted to make something reminiscent of the chicken shawarma wrap I always get with whatever ingredients I had on hand. I found a chicken shawarma marinade online that was absolutely delicious. It was super easy and quick to put this salad together; if you recreate it, just add whatever toppings you have around the house, but you must try using this the spice-marinade on your meat! Good luck in the kitchen and I hope you all are having a wonderful start of the year! 🙂

IMG_3285

Chicken Shawarma Salad
adapted from toriavey.com
serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts (4 large breasts), sliced thinly
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 3/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of cayenne
  • Salt and black pepper
  • Salad: spinach, raisins, walnuts, freshly squeezed lemon juice, mandarins, corn (feel free to add other toppings: grapes, apples, beets, almonds, carrots, tomatoes, cucumber, feta cheese, etc)

Directions

  1. Marinade the chicken with the oil and spices. If you want the flavors to sink in more, refrigerate for 15 minutes or more before cooking.
  2. Cook the chicken on a lightly greased non-stick pan on med-high heat until cooked through, about 5 minutes.
  3. As the chicken is cooking, toss all your salad ingredients in a large bowl and drizzle with freshly squeezed lemon juice.
  4. Top with the cooked chicken.
  5. Enjoy!

I also toasted a slice of whole wheat bread on the pan I used to cook the chicken and it tasted SO good because the bread soaked up all those yummy flavors from the chicken.

IMG_3284

