Tags

, ,

Photo Oct 23, 5 33 08 AM

Hello everyone! I’m back for another round of food adventures!

I am a huge follower of various food blogs and food channels youtube and one in particular that I enjoy is Byron Talbott. I love that his videos are made with such great quality and he makes food that is simple yet looks so decadent and delicious! Recently, he made a dish that I just HAD to try because it was a simple dish with simple ingredients and I can get at a local grocery store, AND the presentation is just so pretty and fancy! He has an awesome website documenting his recipes too!

I made this ratatouille dish for dinner with a friend as a healthier side dish, since it’s packed with vibrant, fresh vegetables. (She is not a huge fan of veggies at all). Overall, I really enjoyed this dish because I loved how the vegetables soaked up all the tomato and herby flavors as it baked, and the vegetables had a great soft texture.

IMG_3140

Without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Ratatouille
recipe from Byron Talbott

Ingredients:
1 zucchini
1 japanese eggplant
1 yellow squash
1 red onion
2 vine ripe tomatoes
4-5 tbsp tomato paste
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp chopped thyme (i used rosemary)
2 tbsp minced onion
1 tbsp sliced garlic
2 tbsp diced chili pepper (bell or spicy)
2 tsp smoked paprika
salt & pepper to taste

Directions:
In a small saucepan on high heat, add olive oil, minced onions, sliced garlic, thyme, bell pepper. Stir and cook for a couple minutes and add water, tomato paste. Cook this for 5-10 minutes until mixture thickens, stirring often.

Slice all your vegetables in similar diameter with knife or mandolin. Spread the sauce on a oven-safe saucepan or round baking pan (I used a 9″ round pan). Layer the vegetables all around the edges of the pan until it reaches the middle. Season with salt, pepper, thyme, and a drizzle of olive oil.

Cover the top with parchment paper or foil with a 2 inch hole cut in the middle. (Or a lid) Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes. (I had to bake mine for 5-10 minutes longer because the vegetables were not quite done – just keep an eye on it).

Enjoy!

I forgot to add the red bell pepper in the sauce so it went on top hehe :P

I forgot to add the red bell pepper in the sauce so it went on top hehe 😛

dinner menu: Chinese steamed chicken and mushroom, bok choy, Chinese sausage with eggs, ratatouille, lotus root soup (not pictured)

dinner menu: Chinese steamed chicken and mushroom, bok choy, Chinese sausage with eggs, ratatouille, lotus root soup (not pictured)

