Hello! Ever since I found out my mom has high cholesterol, I’ve been finding ways to make that would taste good and can help lower her overall cholesterol and LDL (low-density lipoprotein, aka the bad cholesterol). Oatmeal is an awesome choice for breakfast that would help keep her full until lunch because it has a good amount of protein and fiber, and is a heart-healthy wholegrain! I love adding fruits like apples, bananas, and raisins and sprinkling some cinnamon on top in my oatmeal to give it a natural sweet flavor! I also add some walnuts to help me mom get some more healthy fats in her body (omega-3’s).  It also gives the dish more character and makes it look extra good lookin’ and delicious. 😉 How do you like eating your oatmeal? If you don’t eat it often, I encourage you to eat more wholegrain foods such as oatmeal! 🙂

Oatmeal with Banana, Raisin, and Cinnamon
serves 2
1 cup wholegrain rolled oats (I used Quakers)
2 cups milk (or water)
pinch of salt
1 medium sliced banana
1/4 cup raisins
cinnamon
splenda packet or your choice of sugar (optional)
crushed walnuts (optional)

Directions:

  1. Heat a pot on the stove and mix in the milk, oats, a pinch of salt and, and your choice of sugar if using. Cook until it bubbles and the oats look soft and fluffy.
  2. Stir in the raisins and cook for another minute to soften up the raisins.
  3. Turn off the fire and and pour the oatmeal into two bowls.
  4. Add the slices banana, a few raisins, crushed walnuts, and cinnamon on top.
  5. Grab a spoon and enjoy your yummy breakfast! 🙂

photo 2 (5)

