Tags

, ,

IMG_1619

Hello everyone!

So glad to be back in SF for spring break! Finals week was so draining that I find myself sleeping everyday for 10 hours since coming back home. Feels SO good! Spring break also means more time to cook and bake! Yesterday I made some banana bread to share with my grandparents when I go to their house to visit! My mom also requested I make some peanut rice krispies treats! Soooo it’s time to feast and eat all day everyday! 😀 …that is, until I have to go back to school hahhaa.

Today I wanted to make dinner so I decided to make some homemade teriyaki chicken. I love ordering teriyaki chicken when I eat out at Japanese restaurants because I love that they’re slightly crispy on the outside with a sweet and savory coat of teriyaki sauce with every bite into that moist and juicy chicken thigh meat. YUM!  I gave it a go and it turned out pretty well! It took longer than the recipe called for because my meat was pretty thick, but it was well worth the wait! The sauce was so good that I used some of the sauce for a bok choy and mushroom stirfry! Just heat some oil and garlic on the pan, add your mushrooms and bok choy, let it cook covered for a few minutes, add some sauce, and stirfry!

Chicken Teriyaki
adapted from chowhound.com

  • 3/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce (I used 1/2 cup soy sauce, and 1/4 cup water)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • boneless, skinless chicken breasts or thighs
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 teaspoons vegetable oil
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Bring the soy sauce and honey to a simmer in a small saucepan over medium heat, stirring often until the honey has completely dissolved, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic, stir to combine, remove from the heat, and set aside.
  2. If using chicken breasts, place them on a cutting board and cover with a sheet of plastic wrap. Use a meat mallet or a frying pan to gently pound them to a 1/2-inch thickness. Cut each in half so you have 4 pieces roughly the same size. (If using chicken thighs, no need to pound or cut.) Season both sides of the chicken with pepper.
  3. Heat the oil in a large frying pan over high heat until shimmering. Add the chicken in a single layer and cook without disturbing until browned, about 3 minutes (until you see that it’s a good golden brown color). Flip and cook the second side until browned, about 3 minutes more.
  4. Reduce the heat to medium, slowly pour in the reserved sauce, and cook, flipping the chicken occasionally to coat in the sauce, until cooked through, about 3 minutes.
  5. Transfer the chicken from the pan, letting the excess sauce drip off, to a clean cutting board. Reduce the sauce in the pan over medium heat until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes more. Slice the chicken crosswise into 1/2-inch pieces. Place on a serving dish and serve with the sauce on the side. (original recipe called to pour the rest of the sauce on top, but I thought it’d be too salty, so I served it on the side)
my sweet and savory sauce made and ready to drench into the chickennnn!

my sweet and savory sauce made and ready to drench into the chickennnn!

after cooking chicken for a while flip when nicely colored!

after cooking chicken for a while flip when nicely colored!

IMG_1614

after both sides are cooked, pour in that yummy sauce and wait for all that flavor to soak into the chicken!

IMG_1616

chicken is ready to be cut!

IMG_1617

WAH-LA! Chicken teriyaki is done and ready to be devoured! Serve with a side of the sauce!

photo

