Tags

, ,

My friend and I wanted to try baking something using one of Trader Joe’s prepared boxed mixes today. We both love cinnamon-y baked goods and decided to try their Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake Mix. It was SO good! Super simple. Sweet. Soft. Crumbly. Crunchy. Requires only 3 additional ingredients: 1 egg, 2/3 cup milk, 6T butter or oil. 40 minutes passes by. Agonizing 10 minute wait to cool. In my mouth!

IMG_1261IMG_1255

Usually I prefer homemade baked goods over commercial cake mixes because the ones at the store are usually packed with chemicals and who-know-what bad stuff. But this one is an exception. The ingredients listed things that I would use at home if I were to bake my own. Let’s just say, if you like authentic sweets that does not use any of the fake stuff but feel too lazy to measure everything, this Trader Joe’s mixes are the way to go!

The box comes with a bag of the dry ingredients and a smaller bag with the cinnamon sugar mix. You just poured the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl, crack an egg, add the oil,  and mix (don’t overmix!). Then pour the cinnamon sugar in another bowl and then use your fingers to incorporate the pieces of butter until crumbly. It was a bit too moist so we added a little more all purpose flour. Pour half of batter, layer with half of cinnamon sugar, add the rest of the batter, then sprinkle the remaining cinnamon sugar. Pop in the oven for 40 minutes at 350 degrees and then it’s all done!

IMG_1257

IMG_1259

sweet cinnamon layer 🙂

IMG_1258

my favorite part is the crunchy crumb topping

 

