Tags

, , , ,

Tonight’s dinner was a very random and spontaneous meal that I just threw together based on what I had in my refrigerator and pantry. It gave me a very weird feeling, and at one point I felt kind of anxious because I didn’t know whether one ingredient should proceed or come after another and whether the sequence would mess up the dish. A true baker at heart, I am so used to precise measurements and following a recipe. Nope, not this time. I just dumped this, poured that, added a touch of this…and wha-la! my pasta came out wonderfully indulgent! Savory, creamy, and incredibly satisfying!  I’m going to try my best to estimate the amount of each ingredient I used. Try it out! 🙂

IMG_1263

IMG_1262

mmmm crispy baconnnn…

Creamy Chicken and Shrimp Pasta with Bacon

Ingredients:

  • 3oz fettuccine pasta
  • 4oz. chicken breast, chopped into pieces
  • 1 cup de-veined raw shrimp
  • 8 slices of ready-to-go bacon
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup chicken stock
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive/canola oil
  • garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1/2 tsp basil

Directions:

  1. Heat salted water and a drizzle of oil in a pot and cook pasta till al dente, usually around 9-10 minutes. When it’s done drain the pasta in a colander, reserve able 1/2 cup of pasta water and toss about a tablespoon or 2 of oil to to the pasta to prevent sticking.
  2. While the pasta is cooking, toss your shrimp with salt, pepper, a drizzle of oil.
  3. Cook bacon in a large pan. Once cooked through remove from pan and lay on paper towels.
  4. Do not wash out the pan. Add a little bit of oil if there is not much bacon fat. Add onions and garlic and saute until they turn a nice golden color.
  5. Add chicken and saute. When chicken is almost done, add shrimp and cook through.
  6. Add chicken stock and cook until is reduces. (It became too watery so I drained it and saved it for later.)
  7. Add the pasta, mix, then add heavy cream. Add the oregano, basil, garlic salt. Toss to incorporate. If the pasta is a bit dry then add some of the pasta water you saved. Taste and see if you want more spices.
  8. Sprinkle with a bit of parsley on top and enjoy!
    IMG_1264
