ImageHappy Friday!

It such a beautiful day today! Even more so for me because I got to sleep in a little since I don’t have work on Fridays. Well…actually like an hour after when I’m suppose to get up usually. But that hour was just enough for me since I don’t really like sleeping in TOO much.

I want to try blogging consistently for a while before fall quarter starts since I won’t be able to post as often. I think it’s really nice and relaxing to sit at home, away from the scorching heat outside while still getting that beautiful ray of sunshine illuminating the whole room. To top it off, a cup of cooled green tea and Audrey Assad’s voice blasting through the speakers makes me feel almost as if I’m in another world.

The other day I whipped up some citrus marinated shrimp.  I was too lazy to peel and de-vein fresh shrimp so I used ready-to-cook frozen shrimp. 😛 To experiment, I used Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute so see how it would taste. It’s basically a blend of onion and spices (black pepper, celery seed, cayenne pepper, parsley, basil, marjoram, bay leaf, oregano, rosemary, etc) and some lemon powder all in one bottle! It smells SO fragrant. You don’t need to go and purchase this, just go ahead and add some of the spices listed and it’ll give you the same results. A really simple and easy dish to make, perfect with some steamed veggies and brown rice flavored with Asian sauces.  Try it out for yourself!

shrimp with marinade

shrimp with marinade

Image

Citrus Marinated Shrimp

Ingredients
16oz ready-to-cook shrimp, thawed
3 garlic cloves, minced
3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute (or your own blend of spices)
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
generous pinch of salt and pepper
1 tsp parsley
2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. in a medium bowl, season shrimp with salt and pepper.
  2. In another medium bowl, combine olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, spices, red pepper flakes, and parsley. Add shrimp to the marinade. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  3. After 1 hour, heat a pan on medium-high heat with 1 tsp olive oil.
  4. Remove shrimp from the marinade (save the marinade), make sure to shake off the extra liquid or it won’t grill on the pan properly.
  5. Grill shrimp on pan for a couple minutes and flip. Cook for another minute.
  6. Drizzle some of the marinade over the shrimp and toss a few times. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Transfer shrimp to a plate and sprinkle some parsley (or cilantro) on top. Serve with warm rice and vegetables. I love dipping my shrimp in sirracha sauce for a nice kick!

Have a great weekend everyone!! 😀

Image

